Our Curriculum

The curriculum offered by all systemic schools in the Diocese of Broken Bay is based on the Board of Studies syllabus.

These syllabuses clearly identify the Outcomes (the targets of each course) which provide detail of what students will be expected to know, understand and do at the end of a specific stage of learning. Teachers respond to syllabuses by designing teaching programs that take account of resources, expertise, school priorities and most importantly, student learning needs.

On-going assessment for learning enables teachers to make professional judgments about student achievement and to adjust the teaching program to support each student’s learning.

There are seven Key Learning Areas (KLAs):

  1. Religious Education
  2. English
  3. Mathematics
  4. Human Society and its Environment
  5. Science and Technology
  6. Personal Development, Health and Physical Education
  7. Creative Arts

The primary curriculum is organised into Stages:

  • Early Stage 1: Kindergarten
  • Stage 1: Year 1 and Year 2
  • Stage 2: Year 3 and Year 4
  • Stage 3: Year 5 and Year 6

Most students will be working towards the outcomes for their Stage.